Different

July 24, 2008 at 3:14 pm 9 comments

In a conversation that I had recently “being different” was discussed. I have to admit that I am different, some would say a little queer. (Actually I am a big queer but that fact has already been established.) But I got to thinking and yes, I am different in a lot of ways. But that isn’t a bad thing.

I have many hobbies that some would consider weird. I like to make homemade soap and lotions, I would go out of my way to help an animal but yet I brain tan hides, and I spent a year staying up half the night just to watch chickens hatch in my incubator. Oh and baby ducks too and button quail. I have set mouse traps and felt no grief when I caught one of the little beggars, but I have also fed baby mice with an eye dropper because I believe everything deserves a chance to grow up.

I can spend an hour sitting in the grass looking for fourleaf clovers. I can get lost in the beauty of a sunset or a flower. I tend to mosey when I walk, I rarely hurry and I easily get sidetracked. And finding a snail is enough reason to stop and look. And I agree with my youngest, that snails are one of the coolest creatures God made. They are slow and easy to catch and they make SLIME. How cool is that?

I like snakes, spiders, and bats, but bees will see me run and act like an idiot. I am afraid of bees and balloons although I have learned to accept balloons, they are not my friends. If there is a bee in my house I will hunt it down and kill it, but I have learned to leave them alone when they aren’t after me and are OUTSIDE. I like to watch bats fly around at night and I try to safely remove spiders from my house. I don’t even mind Grandaddy Long Legs. I just prefer they live outside. I have a snake that sleeps in my room. Although I can’t feed it when JB is around and awake. In his defense, he is a cute little snake that is so tame and calm.

I once had a pet crawdad (crayfish or otherwise known as a freshwater lobster though not near as big). I would tap on the cover and he would come out and let me pet him. But then again I have used crawdads for fish bait. I love to fish and I am the official queen of the bluegills, and I had cleaned and eaten the fish I have caught. But I once had a funeral for one of my pet fish that died.

Most of my pets are strays or from the local pound, but I once paid $200.00 for a registered German Shepherd that we had spayed since she was a loved pet and not a breeding dog. I am a cat AND a dog person. I love them both for different reasons. My house would not be a home without a dog and a cat running around. I love animals, more than some people I know, and yet I am not a vegetarian. I eat meat and I enjoy it.

I have raised livestock that I knew would end up on my dinner plate, but I truly believed it was my duty to make sure everyday of their life was happy and that they always had their needs met. I grew up in rural America and farmed for many years of my life where livestock was food, but in no way do I fault vegetarians. For whatever reason they choose that path, I understand that people work out of so many different motives and lifestyles. I can not judge them, although vegans do get a hard time around here, but they won’t get it from me.

I firmly believe in the old saying of live and let live. I don’t care if I disagree with your thoughts and opinion 100%, if I believe you are acting out of your convictions, I will respect you for it. For an example, my being gay. If your convictions lead you to believe that I am in sin, then fine. I disagree with you but you are entitled to your opinion. I will treat you with respect as long as you return the favor. I know in my heart that I am who God created me to be and you may know in your heart that I am an abomination to God, so lets agree to disagree and let God figure it all out. That is his job and not mine or yours.

So much of that seems like contradictions, but really it isn’t. How can one limit a life to those things that always seem to agree? If people were a flat two dimensional creation, then that would matter. But humans are round, squishy, full of life and vitality, and we are complex. And the amazing thing is, we are always changing. What I was yesterday is not the same as today. Notice I didn’t say “who I am” for I believe that never changes. God made me who I am, I am responsible for what I am and what I become.

I know parts of me may seem rather odd, but if you get the chance, stop and really look at a snail. Even if you can’t fully appreciate its value and worth, notice the grand design that God created and thank him for it. And then go one step farther and notice the grand design in all of God’s children and thank him for it.

Entry filed under: Animals, God, homosexuality. Tags: , , , , .

Pond Update Weird thoughts

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Stephanie  |  July 24, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    Kelli, you rock!

    What a charming and sweet post. I loved it, you made me smile.

    You don’t sound odd, you sound like a very sweet, loving, compassionate person who adores and teasures the many things God has given to us.

    Reply
  • 2. wvhillcountry  |  July 24, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Thanks Steph, There are many advantages to growing up in the middle of nature. Including the ability to be amazed watching a colony of ants working together to feed themselves and take care of the young. But out comes the bug spray if they decide to colonize my house.

    Reply
  • 3. crazyonewv  |  July 24, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    I thought that you lived in the suburbs of our big town of 300 people. Yes, I do aree with you in seeing nature at work and being in the sticks sure is a blessing and I do enjoy watching our kids,playing in the same piece of woods we played in when we were their ages. Funny how the games are still the same after all these years.

    Reply
  • 4. wvhillcountry  |  July 24, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Same games, different kids, but a wonderful experience.

    Reply
  • 5. e2tc  |  July 25, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I’m not a farm girl, but I grew up in a rural area – and can appreciate the seeming contradiction of loving animals yet also eating meat. If only more people who have stock animals would think – and act – the way you do, there would be a *lot* less suffering in the world.

    As for me, I’m (probably) one of those people who might never be able to eat beef if I had a pet cow (etc. etc.). But that’s speculation at this point. (And anyhow, I would probably go for pet pygmy goats first, along with a few more rabbits, if I was able to live in a larger place with a bit of land attached.)

    We’re all complex creatures… and, like Steph, I don’t think you sound “odd” at all. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. wvhillcountry  |  July 25, 2008 at 12:31 am

    Thanks e2tc, I’m glad I’m not too odd. I have raised many animals that I knew would be butchered, but I can guarentee that they had everything they needed and they were treated right. Not like the videos seen on certain websites.

    I once spent $300.00 trying to save a young bull calf whose mother abandoned him after she trampled on him. He didn’t make it and was buried with proper respect.

    As for my pets, my precious little shadow that passed away a few weeks ago cost me over $600. when she was ran over by a tractor. I once took a stray dog to the vet because it was injured. I can’t stand to see animals suffering and I will do everything in my power to make it better.

    Oh I meant to ask earlier, How is Bun doing? I would love to see a picture if you have one. Maybe I will set up a post where we can share pictures of our 4 legged children.

    Reply
  • 7. e2tc  |  July 25, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    Nibbles is fine – thanks so much for asking!

    You can all check her out here.

    Reply
  • 8. wvhillcountry  |  July 25, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    e2tc, She is absolutely beautiful. I love the white strip on her face. Her nibbleness is a wonderful little bun, I’m glad she found you.

    Reply
  • 9. e2tc  |  July 26, 2008 at 8:18 pm

    Aww… thanks, Kelli! I’m glad she found me, too. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


