Getting older?

February 17, 2009 at 2:34 am 9 comments

First an apology, my thoughts are scrambled and I will go off on tangents.  If you can keep up with me, I will  see you at the end.

February 10, 1972…. The day the world became a better place.  The skies opened up and the birds sang….

Well okay, that never really happened, but it was the day I was born.  Actually it was cold and wintry day, but I like to pretend otherwise.

Well as you can see, I haven’t been writing much lately.  I could lie and say that I have been extremely busy, or say that since I am so much older now I can’t physically do it, but it is all a lie.  The truth is, I have just been lazy.

I could blame it on my blood pressure being up and then adjusting to the new meds., and that would be truth in part, but really I just have been having trouble finding the words.

My mom is having fun at my expense since I am now on “Old People’s Medicines” and I am younger than she was when she had to go on them.  Oh well I guess everyone has to get old sometime.

Not that I think I am old now, it is just funny to realize that I am now my mother’s age when I thought she was old.  And now I realize that my mom isn’t old at all.  When did that happen?  When did mid thirties cease to be old?  And when did 60 turn into being young?

Not that I am complaining.  I rather enjoy looking at my life like it is just begining.  It just strikes me as funny to see it that way now.  You know I remeber thinking of certain people  as old when I was a kid and now they don’t seem all that old.  How did they stay the same age while I grew up?  Who is in charge of this conspiracy?  How can I be getting older but no one else is?

Well okay, I get it.  You are only as old as you feel right?  So why do I feel 3 some days and 103 other days?  Maybe the creaks in the morning and the getting up at night are just a part of older and wiser, maybe it is just a sign of the changing times.  But whatever it is, I refuse to grow up.  I will get older because it beats the alternative….but I will not grow up.  Grown ups are boring and I have to much living to do!

P.S.  Jones I got your point and this one is for you.   😉

Entry filed under: stories, Uncategorized.

Mix together and chill What to write?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Emma  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Thats hilarious. Great blog and hope to have some time soon to come back and read more!

    Reply
  • 2. J  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:53 am

    Happy Birthday to You
    Now, You’re old like me too

    Ha Ha

    I’ve been waiting one whole month to say that and I forgot to call and make fun. That’s part of old age, I guess.

    Reply
  • 3. Jones  |  February 17, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    good post Kelli! keep it up! ya right, like I’m one to talk! but I’m a lot older than you are so therefore I have more excuses. You’re still just a kid. No really you are.

    Reply
  • 4. wvhillcountry  |  February 17, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    J, I wouldn’t know anything about old age except…..dang I forgot to call you and raze you that you were older than me…LOL I had it all planned and I even got you an over the hill card….but my feeble old mind forgot where I put it LOL.

    Jones Thanks girl but a kid? okay maybe sometimes but really feeling OLD right now LOL…Thanks for stopping by and your encouragement to get off my butt and write!

    Reply
  • 5. wvhillcountry  |  February 18, 2009 at 9:20 am

    Emma, not sure why but your comment went to spam. But I posted it as soon as I saw it. I’m glad you stopped by and thanks for your kind words

    Reply
  • 6. bridgeout  |  February 18, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Happy belated birthday Kelli! YEAH!!! Glad to read you whatever has been keeping you occupied! 😀

    {HUGZ}!!!

    Wendy

    Reply
  • 7. wvhillcountry  |  February 18, 2009 at 10:50 pm

    Wendy, shhhh it’s a secret…. Good to see you!

    Reply
  • 8. e2tc  |  February 20, 2009 at 12:00 am

    Happy belated – just dropping by to say that, and to let you know that I’m praying for you and yours.

    And Kelli, I hate to break it to you, but you are “a kid”! 😉

    Any chance your bp meds are making you a little drowsy or tired?

    Reply
  • 9. wvhillcountry  |  February 20, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    Hi there my buddy E, yeah I had a time adjusting to the meds and adjusting to remembering to take them. oh well, Thanks for the BD wishes. Good to see you again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


